comitas-article.png

News

Kano Model of Customer Satisfaction

The Kano model was named after the inventor Noriaki Kano and measures the relationship between the characteristics of a product/a service and the associated customer satisfaction. You may now ask how this relates to individual software. From our point of view, greatly.

 

With a customized software solution, the customer's expectations are also linked to the features, functions and the design of the applications. Some features may be taken for granted by the customer, other features may excite the customer, still others may be rejected because they are not considered necessary. For this reason, the customer satisfaction model developed in 1978 is important to include in the planning of a new software project. In the Kano model, customer requirements are divided into five different characteristics:

 

Basic features: These are taken for granted and are only noticed when they have not been fulfilled. This non-fulfilment inevitably leads to customer dissatisfaction. If, on the other hand, the features are present, no additional customer satisfaction arises. Especially if several user groups are involved in the project planning, it is worthwhile to briefly explain these "expected requirements" so that all stakeholders find themselves in the same starting position.

 

Performance characteristics: These factors have a high impact on the satisfaction curve as they are required by the customer. If only one must-criterion is not fulfilled, dissatisfaction results. Depending on the degree of fulfilment of the performance spectrum, satisfaction increases. These "normal requirements" are best formulated clearly by the customer in a specification.

 

Enthusiasm features: These are functions that reduce processes and save time, "features & functions" that the customer does not expect. Functions that offer the customer real added value will drive up customer satisfaction. If these features are missing, this does not create dissatisfaction as the customer did not expect them. If, however, these "delightful requirements" even simplify the customer's work and make the software easier to use, you can be sure that customer satisfaction will increase exponentially.

 

Irrelevant features: These features have no impact on customer satisfaction, regardless of the degree of fulfilment.

 

Rejection features: Features that are rejected by the customer exert a disproportionately negative impact on customer satisfaction when the level of non-fulfilment is increased. If the characteristics are fulfilled, on the other hand, they hardly have a positive impact. Here it is important to be able to interpret the customer's wishes correctly.

kano-modell.png

It would be wrong to conclude that customer satisfaction is complete with this model. More functionality in a software is not automatically better. Being able to operate only the basic features is not enough to stand out from the competition. The key to success lies in an intensive dialogue with the customer. Even when a project is successfully completed, there are dynamic factors that change over time. Through direct exchange, customer wishes can be implemented in agile project cycles. Customer loyalty arises above all through quality and enthusiasm features.

 

We inspire, your Comitas

Contact us for more information

Our team will be happy to help you.

comitas-article.png

News

Kano-Modell der Kundenzufriedenheit

Das Kano-Modell wurde nach dem Erfinder Noriaki Kano benannt und misst den Zusammenhang zwischen den Eigenschaften eines Produkts/einer Dienstleistung und der damit einhergehenden Kundenzufriedenheit. Sie mögen sich nun fragen, was das mit individueller Software zu tun hat. Aus unserer Sicht, sehr viel.

 

An eine massgenschneiderte Softwarelösung sind auch Erwartungen der Kunden an die Eigenschaften, Funktionen und das Design der Applikationen geknüpft. Einige Merkmale sieht der Kunde vielleicht als selbstverständlich, andere Merkmale begeistern den Kunden, wieder andere werden abgelehnt, da nicht für nötig gehalten. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, das 1978 entwickelte Kundenzufriedenheitsmodell bei der Entwicklung einer neuen Software bereits bei der Planung in das Projekt einfliessen zu lassen. Im Kano-Modell werden Kundenanforderungen in fünf verschiedene Merkmale unterteilt:

 

Basismerkmale: Diese werden als selbstverständlich erachtet und fallen erst auf, wenn sie nicht erfüllt wurden. Diese Nichterfüllung führt unweigerlich zur Unzufriedenheit des Kunden. Sind die Merkmale hingegen vorhanden, entsteht keine zusätzliche Kundenzufriedenheit. Vor allem, wenn mehrere Nutzergruppen in der Projektplanung involviert sind, lohnt es sich diese «expected requirements» kurz zu erläutern, damit sich alle Protagonisten in der gleichen Ausgangslage befinden.

Leistungsmerkmale: Diese Faktoren haben eine hohe Auswirkung auf die Zufriedenheitskurve, da sie vom Kunden selbst verlangt werden. Je nach Erfüllungsgrad des Leistungsspektrums, steigt die Zufriedenheit. Diese «normal requirements» werden am besten mit einem Lastenheft vom Kunden klar formuliert.

 

Begeisterungsmerkmale: Dies sind Funktionen, die Prozesse schmälern und Zeit sparen, «features and functions», die der Kunde eben nicht erwartet. Funktionen, die dem Kunden einen echten Mehrwert bieten, schaffen es, die Zufriedenheit der Kunden zu erhöhen. Fehlen diese Merkmale, erzeugt dies keine Unzufriedenheit. Der Kunde hat nicht damit gerechnet. Wenn diese «delightful requirements» dem Kunden allerdings die Bedienung der Software sogar vereinfachen, können Sie sicher sein, dass die Kundenzufriedenheit exponentiell ansteigt.

 

Unerhebliche Merkmale: Diese Merkmale haben unabhängig vom Erfüllungsgrad keinen Einfluss auf die Kundenzufriedenheit.

 

Rückweisungsmerkmale: Eigenschaften, die vom Kunden abgelehnt werden, wirken sich bei erhöhter Nichterfüllung der Anforderungen überdurchschnittlich negativ auf die Kundenzufriedenheit aus. Werden die Merkmale erfüllt, schlagen sie hingegen kaum positiv aus. Hier gilt es, die Kundenwünsche richtig interpretieren zu können.

Dabei auf eine vollständige Kundenzufriedenheit zu schliessen, wäre falsch. Mehr Funktionsumfang in einer Software ist nicht automatisch besser. Nur die Basismerkmale bedienen zu können, reicht nicht aus, um sich von der Konkurrenz abzuheben. Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg liegt in der intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kunden. Selbst wenn ein Projekt erfolgreich abgeschlossen ist, gibt es dynamische Faktoren, die sich über die Zeit ändern. Durch den direkten Austausch bleiben Kundenwünsche nicht nur Wünsche, sondern können in agilen Projektzyklen umgesetzt werden. Kundenbindung entsteht vor Allem durch die Qualität und die Begeisterungsmerkmale.

 

Wir begeistern, Eure Comitas

Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen

Unser Team hilft Ihnen gerne weiter.

Hauptsitz Wiesenstrasse 5,

8952 Schlieren

+41 (0) 44 745 17 77

Niederlassung Indien 14th floor,

SKAV 909, Bengaluru

+91 988 0236 808

Niederlassung Kosovo Vicianium Nr. 251, Arberi, Pristina

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle

© 2020 Comitas AG. All rights reserved.