photo-1504353888070-4ee702492320.jpg

News

Prejudices towards individual software

In today's world of digitization, the first step is to find out what goals are to be achieved. Do you want to adapt certain processes, bring the company and its customers closer together, automate a business model or implement new innovative business ideas?

In order to implement innovative ideas, you usually need the appropriate software. Unfortunately, this is not very easy, because now it is necessary to find out if there is a standard software which can be adapted by certain changes or if a completely new software, a so-called individual software is needed.

The decision between standard software or individual software is a difficult topic and it seems to occupy the today's enterprise world strongly. On the one hand you want to stand out from the competition and on the other hand the risks must be assessed correctly.

There are a lot of prejudices and uncertainties, especially regarding individual software, and we would like to get to the bottom of these.

 

Dependence on individual software

Many people are of the opinion that the dependency on the manufacturer is much higher for individual software than for standard software. However, this is usually not true, because it is often easier to have certain adjustments and changes made by another company than with standard software, as these are often very complex, and it is very difficult to transfer them to another company. It is important to note that a common technology such as .Net is used for individual software development to reduce the risk of dependency.

 

Individual software is complicated

Since individual software can be adapted directly to the work processes, many work processes can be made significantly easier and more effective for the employees. The functions as well as the design can be co-determined and can be tailored exactly to their own wishes. In today's fast-changing times, individual software that can be adapted to the constant change in which companies and their processes find themselves, is ideal for mastering major challenges and remaining competitive.

 

Individual software projects are second nature

Basically, it can be said that the initial phase with the exact planning of the software and the definition of the various details can be somewhat time-consuming. But exactly this effort in the startup phase is worth it, because with custom software, even during the creation process, changes and optimizations can still be made in your own core processes. In this way, additional ideas and requirements can also be integrated into the new software. Allow enough spare time right from the start, because additional innovations and ideas that only emerge during the creation process can still be integrated. The created software is an asset for your company and additionally strengthens your competitiveness, isn't it worth investing time?

 

Individual software is only something for large companies

Also, this prejudice persists although it is very important for many SMEs to have a software that is exactly adapted to the internal requirements and conditions, because often the leeway in this regard is significantly greater in large companies than in SMEs. Individual software can be completely customized, so that exactly those companies can benefit, in which innovation and flexibility play an important role. Innovation does not usually take place in standard processes such as accounting and master data management, where standard software is preferred, but in new business areas or product/service development.

Individual software is only something for large companies

Also, this prejudice persists although it is very important for many SMEs to have a software that is exactly adapted to the internal requirements and conditions, because often the leeway in this regard is significantly greater in large companies than in SMEs. Individual software can be completely customized, so that exactly those companies can benefit, in which innovation and flexibility play an important role. Innovation does not usually take place in standard processes such as accounting and master data management, where standard software is preferred, but in new business areas or product/service development.

 

Individual software is expensive

Standard software solutions always seem to be cheaper in the beginning, you have a fixed price you pay for a finished product and that's it. In reality, however, it usually looks different, since costs for implementation and adjustments to the business processes are usually added. Often it is a complicated process in which the new software must be integrated and implemented into the working environment with additional systems. With such actions the costs can rise then very fast and it can become expensive.

Of course, there are also recurring costs for individual software but in contrast to so-called license costs, these costs are invested in the expansion of the existing software so that continuous adjustments and improvements or innovative innovations can be made. With an individual solution there are no license costs and it is the property of the company in which the investment can be made. 

 

Last but not least...

It can be said that it is worthwhile to weigh up the pros and cons before deciding whether to purchase a standard software or an individual software. Especially when it comes to adapting specific processes within a company, it is worth considering the positive aspects of an individual software.

We would be happy to give you detailed information about our services and support you in your decision!

Contact us for more information

Our team will be happy to help you.

Head office Wiesenstrasse 5,

8952 Schlieren

+41 (0) 44 745 17 77

Branch office India 14th floor,

SKAV 909, Bengaluru

+91 988 0236 808

© 2020 Comitas AG. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle

photo-1504353888070-4ee702492320.jpg

News

Vorurteile gegenüber Individualsoftware

Beim Thema Digitalisierung geht es in der heutigen Zeit vor allen darum als erstes herauszufinden welche Ziele erreicht werden sollen. Will man gewisse Prozesse anpassen, das Unternehmen und seine Kunden näher zusammenbringen, ein Geschäftsmodell automatisieren oder neue innovative Geschäftsideen umsetzen.

Um innovative Ideen umsetzen zu können benötigt man in der Regel eine entsprechende Software. Dies ist leider nicht ganz einfach, denn nun gilt es herauszufinden ob es möglicherweise eine Standardsoftware gibt welche durch gewisse Änderungen passend gemacht werden könnte oder ob eine komplett neue Software, eine sogenannte Individualsoftware benötigt wird.

Der Entscheid zwischen Standardsoftware oder Individualsoftware ist ein schwieriges Thema und es scheint die heutige Unternehmenswelt stark zu beschäftigen. Auf der einen Seite möchte man sich von der Konkurrenz abheben und differenzieren auf der anderen Seite müssen die Risiken richtig eingeschätzt werden.

Besonders zum Thema Individualsoftware gibt es viele Vorurteile und Unsicherheiten und diesen möchten wir etwas genauer auf den Grund gehen.

 

Abhängigkeit Individualsoftware

Viele sind der Meinung, dass die Abhängigkeit zum Hersteller bei einer Individualsoftware viel höher sei als bei einer Standardsoftware. Dies ist jedoch in der Regel nicht richtig, da es oftmals einfacher ist gewisse Anpassungen und Changes bei einer Individualsoftware durch eine andere Unternehmung durchführen zu lassen als bei einer Standardsoftware, da diese oft sehr komplex aufgebaut sind und eine Übergabe ein anderes Unternehmen nur sehr schwer möglich ist. Wichtig zu beachten ist, dass bei einer Individualsoftwareentwicklung eine verbreitete Technologie, wie bspw. .Net verwendet wird, um das Risiko der Abhängigkeit zu reduzieren.

 

Individualsoftware ist kompliziert

Da Individualsoftware direkt an die Arbeitsabläufe angepasst werden kann, können viele Arbeitsabläufe auch für die Mitarbeiter bedeutend einfacher und effektiver gestaltet werden. Die Funktionen sowie das Design können mitbestimmt und auf genau auf die eigenen Wünsche zugeschnitten werden. In der heutigen so schnell ändernden Zeit, ist eine Individualsoftware, welche immer wieder dem stetigen Wandel in welchem sich die Unternehmen und deren Prozesse befinden angepasst werden können, optimal um die grossen Herausforderungen zu meistern und konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben.

 

Individualsoftware-Projekte sind zweitaufwendig

Grundsätzlich darf man sagen, dass die Startphase mit der genauen Planung der Software und dem Festlegen der verschiedenen Einzelheiten etwas zeitaufwändig sein kann. Doch genau dieser Aufwand in der Startphase lohnt sich, denn bei Individualsoftware können auch während des Erstellungsprozesses noch Änderungen und Optimierungen in den eigenen Kernprozessen vorgenommen werden. So können auch noch zusätzliche Ideen und Anforderungen in die neue Software integriert werden. Planen Sie von Anfang an genug Reserve Zeit ein, denn auch zusätzliche Innovationen und Ideen, die erst während des Erstellungsprozesses auftauchen, können dann noch integriert werden. Die geschaffene Software bildet einen Vermögenswert für Ihr Unternehmen und stärkt zusätzlich die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, lohnt es da nicht Zeit zu investieren?

 

Individualsoftware ist nur etwas für Grossunternehmen

Auch dieses Vorurteil hält sich hartnäckig obwohl es gerade für viele KMUs sehr viel wichtiger ist, eine Software zu haben die genau auf die internen Anforderungen und Gegebenheiten angepasst ist, da auch oftmals der Spielraum diesbezüglich bei Grossunternehmen bedeutend grösser ist als bei KMUs. Individualsoftware kann vollständig angepasst werden, so dass eben genau die Unternehmen profitieren können bei welchen Innovation und Flexibilität eine grosse Rolle spielt. Innovation spielt sich meistens nicht in Standardprozessen wie bspw. Buchhaltung und Stammdatenverwaltung, wo eine Standardsoftware bevorzugt werden soll ab, sondern in neuen Geschäftsbereichen oder Produkt/Serviceentwicklung.

 

Individualsoftware ist teuer

Standardsoftwarelösungen scheinen anfangs immer günstiger zu sein, man hat einen fixen Preis, den man für ein fertiges Produkt zahlt und das wars dann auch schon. In der Realität sieht es jedoch meistens anders aus, da meistens noch Kosten für die Implementation und Anpassungen an die Unternehmensprozesse dazukommen. Häufig ist es ein komplizierter Prozess bei welchem mit noch zusätzlichen Systemen die neue Software integriert und in die Arbeitsumgebung implementiert werden muss. Bei solchen Aktionen können die Kosten dann sehr schnell ansteigen und es kann teuer werden.

Natürlich gibt es auch bei Individualsoftware wiederkehrende Kosten aber im Gegensatz zu sogenannten Lizenzkosten werden diese Kosten jeweils in die Erweiterung der bestehenden Software investiert so das laufend Anpassungen und Verbesserungen oder innovative Neuerungen vorgenommen werden können. Bei einer individuellen Lösung fallen keine Lizenzkosten an und es ist Eigentum des Unternehmens, in das investiert werden kann. 

 

Zu guter Letzt…

Es lässt sich sagen, dass es sich auf jedenfalls lohnt vorgängig die Pro & Kontras gut abzuwägen bevor man sich entscheidet ob man eine Standardsoftware oder eine Individualsoftware anschaffen will. Besonders wenn es darum geht spezifische Prozesse innerhalb eines Unternehmens anzupassen lohnt es sich, die positiven Aspekte einer Individualsoftware in Betracht zu ziehen.

Gerne geben wir Ihnen detaillierte Auskunft über unsere Services und unterstützen Sie bei Ihrer Entscheidung!

Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen

Unser Team hilft Ihnen gerne weiter.

Hauptsitz Wiesenstrasse 5,

8952 Schlieren

+41 (0) 44 745 17 77

Niederlassung Indien 14th floor,

SKAV 909, Bengaluru

+91 988 0236 808

© 2020 Comitas AG. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle